多元文化服務
英語會員部歷史及發展
香港基督教女青年會自創立以來一直都有提供服務與居港的外藉女士。直至二次世界大戰後,大量外籍商人來港定居,這些商人的妻子亦隨著他們移居香港。這些婦女因為背井離鄉,面對陌生的環境而感到焦慮和不安。作為國際性的婦女組織,前名譽會長李曹秀群博士及另一位美籍職員認為香港基督教女青年會有責任幫助這些新移民女性適應新生活。英語會員部因此正式成立於1946年,以應付當時社會上的需要。
英語會員部成立之後與本會其他部門一起舉辦了許多交流活動。如英語會員為婦女部會員教授英語;而婦女部亦會為英語會員們開辦中式烹飪課程。當時成立了的中西討論小組,每週為來自不同國家的人仕提供一些有關於香港居住的注意事項,以幫助新來港女性盡快適應香港生活。

英語會語部最為人知的「家在香港」啟導課程自1976年起不斷為新來港的不同國籍人士介紹香港的生活方式、飲食及名勝,而會員們也可以通過課程結識新朋友,逐漸適應在港生活。

由2014年1月起,有近七十年歷史之英語會員部與會員事工部(班組服務)正式合併,成為「女青活學中心」。中心乃一多元文化之「學習及教育」平台,並秉承服務外籍及本地社群的精神,為幼童至長者等不同國籍的會員提供更完善及全面的服務。

 女青活學中心網頁:http://clle.ywca.org.hk



版權所有© 2019 香港基督教女青年會 (擔保有限公司)
Powered By SmarkGlobal

Diverse Cultural Services
The English Speaking Members Department:
History & Development
Since its inception, the HKYWCA has been keen on providing services for expatriate women living in Hong Kong. In the wake of the World War II, a significant number of expatriate women and their businessmen husband immigrated to Hong Kong. Being away from home, many were struggling to adapt to the new and unfamiliar surroundings. Dr. Ellen Li, former Honorary President of the HKYWCA, and an American staff member felt that as an international women’s organization, the HKYWCA should help them adjust to the new environment. It is against this backdrop that in 1946 the English Speaking Members Department was established to cater for different needs of society.
The English Speaking Members Department has organized numerous cultural exchange activities together with other departments of HKYWCA. Members conducted English Language classes for the Women Affairs Department, and the Women Affairs Department in turn conducted Chinese cooking classes for English speaking members. An East-West Discussion Group met weekly to share information about Hong Kong with people of different nationalities, in the hope that newcomers to Hong Kong would soon become adapted to their new life in the city.

The Department’s best known course is the ‘At Home’ programme. Since 1976 when it was launched, ‘At Home’ has allowed newcomers of different nationalities to meet new friends and to learn more about the lifestyle, food and local attractions of Hong Kong.

Starting from January 2014, English Speaking Members Department, with nearly a 70-year history, and Membership Affairs Department (course services) had been merged and formed the ‘Centre of Life Learning and Enhancement’. It is aspired to be a multi-cultural ‘learning and educational’ platform and it continuously serves both expatriate and local communities by providing better and extensive services to its members ranging from infants to elders of different nationalities.

Website of Centre of Life Learning and Enhancement: http://clle.ywca.org.hk







COPYRIGHT© 2019 HKYWCA
(a company limited by guarantee)
 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. 
Powered By SmarkGlobal